Access Permissions between Sharing rules and Profile

Sharing Rules & Profile

Here is clear and precise information on how the permissions works between the Sharing Rules and Profile rules.

Sharing Rules/ Profile Read Read, Write Read, Write, Delete
Public - Read User can only Read the records of all users.



Users can’t Write & Delete any records.
Users can Read & Write the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can Read but can’t Write the records of users, who are same or higher in hierarchy.
Users can Read, Write & Delete the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can Read, but can’t Write & Delete the records of users, who are same or higher in hierarchy.
Public - Read, Write User can only Read the records of all users.



Users can’t Write & Delete any records.
Users can Read and Write records of all the users.



Users can’t Delete any record.
Users can Read, Write & Delete the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can Read & Write, but can’t Delete the records of users, who are same or higher in hierarchy.
Public - Read, Write, Delete User can only Read the records of all users.


Users can’t Write & Delete any records.
Users can Read & Write any the records.


Users can’t Delete any record.
Users can Read, Write & Delete the records all users.
Private User can only Read the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can’t Read, Write & Delete the records of Users, who are same or higher in the hierarchy.
User can only Read & Write the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can’t Read, Write & Delete the records of Users, who are same or higher in the hierarchy.
User can Read, Write & Delete the records of their own and users lower in the hierarchy.

Users can’t Read, Write & Delete the records of Users, who are same or higher in the hierarchy.